A cautionary tale about caring for your Icelandic sweater

Poppets, lovelies and dear ones,

A short blog today (and yes I genuinely mean it this week. Under 500 words- it’s a miracle!), as I’ve  been struck down with the plague so am confined to isolation and bed rest- but I still wanted to get something on here and share some thoughts. Thank goodness for the Night Nurse I brought with me from home! Never leave home without it kids. Fingers crossed I’ll be back to my usual bright and breezy self ASAP.

Things of note from this week:

  • Marmite is ace in gravy. Fact. I made a vegetarian roast dinner and even the haters, deniers and non-believers agreed.
  • On Monday (20.01.17) artist and academic Katrín Inga Jónsdóttir Hjördísardóttir gave us an inspirational and insightful lecture on Icelandic art, artists and the contemporary scene. I learned of so many interesting artists completely outside of my knowledge- Iceland has a relatively new art scene, and it’s lack of history, rules, institutions and prizes gives a creative freedom without the weight of what’s gone before- which is very exciting. I spent much of the following morning researching and looking things up- I was particularly drawn to the work of Ólöf Nordal and the 2017 Venice Bienalle representative Egill Sæbjörnsson (Trollbook is wonderful and totally worth a read).

IMG_2746

  • On Tuesday (21.01.17) I went for a loooooong walk to the other side of the fjord. It was a beautiful crisp day, and I was accompanied by sunshine and the sound of crunchy snowy footsteps. Despite not being in the studio it was a really productive time. There is something really important about time away from work, and I think solitude in the landscape helped me to consolidate where I am at. I really begun unpicking what’s going on with my practice and how to articulate that. I even came up with a whole new strand of work.  As I was walking, I was reminded that sometimes I still need to pinch myself that this is my life at the moment.

IMG_2752

IMG_2750

IMG_2775

IMG_2782

IMG_2777

  • I have spent the rest of the week doing long days in the studio, busily making and constructing, not ready to share yet, but I am excited by this unexpected direction. There is a common thread and idea in all of my work, but even I am surprised by just how different physically my (almost) two months of  work are here.
  • I have written a guest article for “We’re The Travellers” blog, a travel magazine for beginner writers. You can find it here.
  • And finally, a cautionary tale: NEVER EVER put a beautiful handmade Icelandic sweater, knitted with all that time and love, in the washing machine. Even if you are confident and think you have it on a hand wash setting. DON’T DO IT. Felted does not even come close. Solid. And Alfie sized! I would have cried if it wasn’t so damn funny. You live and learn…

IMG_2822

IMG_2823

Happy Sunday wonderful ones.

Until next time, TTFN, much love,

Kimi xxx

img_2821.jpg

 

 

One thought on “A cautionary tale about caring for your Icelandic sweater

Leave a Reply

